Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Vettel's Vigor in Bahrain Results in Victory

Photo Credit: Pirelli Photo Service

Last year, it wasn't until the sixth race on the Formula 1 grand prix calendar until a constructor repeated. It took eight race in 2012 before a Fernando Alonso became the first winner of more than one event. This year's Formula 1 contest has already started with three distant winners. Kimi Raikkonen with Lotus F1 Team, Sebastian Vettel with Red Bull Racing and more recently the Ferrari of Fernando Alonso had stood at the top of a 2013 grand prix race podium. Heading into the fourth race of the 2013 Formula 1 season at the Bahrain International Circuit, the question would stand if this year would establish a similar pattern.

Taking his first pole of 2013, German Mercedes-AMG driver Nico Rosberg posted a 1-minute, 32.330-second time on Saturday for the top spot for the 57-lap Bahrain Grand Prix. A second straight pole position for the Mercedes-AMG race team, 2013 has yet to result in a victory for Rosberg or new teammate Lewis Hamilton despite some strong runs. On the starting grid for the 2013 Bahrain Grand Prix, Nico Rosberg was joined by the Red Bull-Renault of Sebastian Vettel. Row two of the starting line-up saw the Ferrari F138 race cars paired with Fernando Alonso claiming an edge over Felipe Massa in qualifying.

Under warm, sunny conditions, the lights went out to signify the 2013 Bahrain Grand Prix commenced. On the opening lap, a three-car incident sustained damage quickly in the early grand prix race. Valtteri Bottas' Williams-Renault, the Caterham-Renault of Giedo Van de Garde and the Jean-Eric Vergne driving a Toro Rosso-Ferrari were involved in a turn-four tangle. Scuderia Toro Rosso's driver Vergne would be the only competitor encountering difficulty preventing him from completing the grand prix.

Photo Credit: Pirelli Photo Service

Immediately into the Bahrain Grand Prix, Sebastian Vettel became working over the pole-winning Mercedes for the lead. When the DRS system was enabled on the third lap, Vettel was able to push his Red Bull-Renault passed Nico Rosberg. When Rosberg fell to second, the Mercedes fell pray to the Ferrari of Fernando Alonso.

On lap five, Alonso took the second spot in the race but soon encountered issues. In a bizarre incident, the DRS rear wing device remained open past the activation zone on lap 7. Stuck open, the Ferrari needed to pit the following lap to have the flap reset. The problem occurred once more on the following lap requiring Fernando Alonso to once again pit. Based on the lost time in the pits and the malfunctioning DRS wing

Photo Credit: Pirelli Photo Service

Sebastian Vettel becomes the first multiple winner of the 2013 Formula 1 tour. Defending his 2012 victory on the Middle East race track, Vettel's 28th Formula 1 victory has permitted the three-time and reigning German driver to grab a 10-point advantage in the Driver's Standings.

In second and third place, the Lotus-Renault runners Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean accomplish a feat last performed at the Hungarian Grand Prix in 2012. Collecting significant points for the Lotus F1 Team, is elevated to second place in the constructors' championship over Ferrari.

2013 Formula 1
Bahrain Grand Prix
Race Results

Pos # Car # Driver Team Engine

1 1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Renault
2 7 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus Renault
3 8 Romain Grosjean Lotus Renault
4 14 Paul di Resta Force India Mercedes-Benz
5 10 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes AMG Mercedes-Benz
6 6 Sergio Perez McLaren Mercedes-Benz
7 2 Mark Webber Red Bull Renault
8 3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari Ferrari
9 9 Nico Rosberg Mercedes AMG Mercedes-Benz
10 5 Jenson Button McLaren Mercedes-Benz
11 16 Pastor Maldonado Williams F1 Renault
12 11 Nico Hulkenberg Sauber Ferrari
13 15 Adrian Sutil Force India Mercedes-Benz
14 17 Valtteri Bottas Williams F1 Renault
15 4 Felipe Massa Ferrari Ferrari
16 19 Daniel Ricciardo Scuderia Toro Rosso Ferrari
17 20 Charles Pic Caterham Renault
18 12 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber Ferrari
19 22 Jules Bianchi Marussia Cosworth
20 23 Max Chilton Marussia Cosworth
21 21 Giedo van der Garde Caterham Renault
22 18 Jean-Eric Vergne Scuderia Toro Rosso Ferrari

No comments:

Post a Comment