Sunday, October 28, 2012

Vettel Edges Webber for Indian Grand Prix Pole

Photo source: Pirelli Photo Service

Assuming the Formula 1 driver's championship points lead after a Korean Grand Prix victory, Sebastian Vettel has four races remaining in the 2012 Formula 1 season to defend his reign in the top open wheel racing series in the world.

Competing for the second time at the Buddh International Circuit for the Indian Grand Prix, Vettel approaches the fourth to last event in the 2012 tour as the defending 2011 winner of the pole and race. In qualifying, the German Red Bull Racing star followed-up last season's success with a performance granting him a second pole for the Indian Grand Prix. Lapping at 1 minute, 25.283 seconds in the final Q3 run, Vettel's Red Bull-Renault narrowly beat-out brand mate Mark Webber for the top spot. For the third Formula 1 race in a row, the front row of a grand prix will be dominated by the Red Bull Racing organization.

With the Indian Grand Prix serving as the part of the four remaining races in the 2012 Formula 1 tour, Red Bull Racing has risen to challenge for both the ongoing drivers championship and the constructors title against Ferrari. Fernando Alonso qualified 5th for the Grand Prix of India barely topping Ferrari teammate Felipe Massa. The Scuderia Ferrari team is 77 points behind Red Bull Racing in the team constructors title with 43 points on the table for each of the remaining event.

Just six points behind Ferrari in the constructor points for Formula 1, McLaren will be attempting to forget some late season missteps (including the recent Korean Grand Prix) that has cost the team as well as drivers Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button a meaningful chance at titles. Showing some good overall strength, McLaren-Mercedes race cars occupy the second row with Hamilton ahead of Button.

In seventh spot for the start of the Indian Grand Prix, Kimi Raikkonen's Lotus-Renault is less than a second slower than the pole-winning car of Sebastian Vettel. This can bode well to the competition at the Indian racetrack. Sergio Perez for Sauber, the Williams-Renault of Pastor Maldonado and Nico Rosberg driving for Mercedes GP rounded out the top 10 for the Indian Grand Prix grid.

2012 Formula One
Indian Grand Prix
Starting Grid

Pos # Car #/ Driver/ Constructor
1 1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault
2 2 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault
3 4 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes
4 3 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes
5 5 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
6 6 Felipe Massa Ferrari
7 9 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus-Renault
8 15 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari
9 18 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault
10 8 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP
11 10 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault
12 12 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes
13 19 Bruno Senna Williams-Renault
14 7 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP
15 16 Daniel Ricciardo Scuderia Toro Rosso-Ferrari
16 11 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes
17 14 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari
18 17 Jean-Eric Vergne Scuderia Toro Rosso-Ferrari
19 21 Vitaly Petrov Caterham-Renault
20 20 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham-Renault
21 24 Timo Glock Marussia-Cosworth
22 22 Pedro de la Rosa HRT F1
23 23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT F1
24 25 Charlie Pic Marussia-Cosworth

No comments:

Post a Comment